Owl Simple DIY – Christmas Mixed Media Tag #1

40

Having been tipped off by a Twitter friend, I have dived straight into the bottomless world of mixed media art. If I ever thought I have found the level of craft where I can use all my supplies, I was wrong. Because apparently it’s only now I have found this level and I plan to stay here for quite a long time if not forever.

What I adore about mixed media is the endless creativity it both requires and provides. It challenges and guides you among the piles of craft supplies you have. It makes you think of new ways of using the same tool over and over and sometimes you are amazed at what unusual ways a particular product can be used.

I have long been into cardmaking, although it’s quite hard for me to buy all the tools I want. And trust me, I want all of them. Isn’t it the curse of all crafters out there?

So I have decided to try out mixed media techniques on a Christmas tag. To create it I used some white cardstock left from the previous holiday season, distress inks as well as usual inkpads, holidays stamps and Marabu Glitter Liner. You can find a full supplies list in the end of this post.

41

I have created background using my set of watercolors and a large stamp set from Viva Decor, containing fancy swirls, stockings and star shaped snowflakes. Then I moved on to create my tree, using pattern paper from Teresa Collins’s set “Candy Cane” and to make the tree look distressed, as well as the tag’s edges, I used my Walnut Stain Distress Ink.

To finish off the tag and bring in more details, I used my Marabu Glitter Liner in golden shade to add a lot of glitter, because glitter rules the world. I dapped it with my brush on the edges of the tag, of the tree and added a lot of it on the star.

The sentiment comes from Simon Says Stamp and I stamped it on usual office paper and used my distress inks to give it a coordinating look.

This is what I mainly did to create this glittery grunge inspired tag. I hope you enjoy it.

Full supplies list:

  • White Cardstock (brand unknown)
  • Viva Decor Stockings and Swirls Clear Stamps Set
  • Simon Says Stamp “Holiday Hellos” Clear Stamps Set
  • Walnut Stain Distress Inkpad
  • Versacolor Rose Red Inkpad
  • Versafine Onyx Black Inkpad
  • Teresa Collins “Candy Cane” 6×6″ pad
  • Marabu Glitter Liner (519)
  • Tattered Angels Iridescent Silver Misting Bottle
  • Double Sided Sticky Tape
  • Foam Squares

Julia.

Leave a Reply

