Owl Simple DIY – Pencil Coloured Tags

35

Hello, my dear reader!

Recently I have been a lot into pencil colouring. I found nice pictures on the web, printed them and dived into art therapy. It’s a good thing I didn’t get rid of the pencils I collected through my childhood. Also my watercolor pencils came in handy, as it turned out they worked perfect for coloring dry.

And then I thought – why not use my brand new coloring addiction for my mail benefit? And here is what happened!

Craft Pencil Coloured Tags DIY

Supplies:

  1. Craft tags
  2. Color pencils (usual or watercolor ones – I am using watercolor pencils in this tutorial)
  3. Sketch ideas
  4. Hole punch
  5. Threads

Step 1. Prepare the tags.

30

I was lucky to purchase a box of 100 craft tags a month or so ago online for a very low price. I didn’t expect much, but when these cuties arrived, they appeared to be very nice on touch, neatly cut and perfect for any purpose – from tags themselves to little cards. I decided to use these for my tutorial. Their surface also works fantastis with my watercolor pencils!

Step 2. Choose images and sketch them.

31

I decided to go with three versions – a cupcake, a bird and an envelope. I’m not much of an artist, so my sketches are childish and shabby, but I enjoy them anyway. The bird I found online and there are tons of little adorable cartoon-ish images that you can use as inspiration. Sketch the images with a pencil lightly.

Step 3. Colour!

32

Use whatever pencils, markers you have and give colour to your little images! My watercolor pencils work perfect when dry (and when wet too) and blend incredibly well. I coloured my images according to their themes.

Step 3. Make lines.

33

This step can be easily skipped, but I decided to go in with my black gel pen and trace the lines around my images. It gives them more depths and cartoonish look this way. If you wish to skip – do so!

Step 4. Punch the holes and add threads.

34

I have a cute heart-hole puncher which I used to create the holes for my threads.

Step 5. Add details!

Here is where creativity comes most. Now that you have your tags ready, add something! I decided to add golden sparkles on the bird, some red sparkles on the envelope heart and some clear gloss on top of the cupcake. You can add glitter, stamp something in the upper part or even add some text!

I hope this tutorial was inspiring enough for you! If you make anything using this little lesson, post it in the comments and I’ll be happy to check out!

Julia x.

2 thoughts on “Owl Simple DIY – Pencil Coloured Tags

    • Thank you very much, Rosa! 🙂 I am sure that your tags can turn out very lovely. It’s attention that matters, in the end 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

