Owl Simple Books: “The Professor” by Charlotte Brontë

Hello, dear reader!

Most of my friends know that I mostly enjoy reading British classic literature. I’m a big fan of the Regency/Victorian era, therefore my favourite writers are Charlotte Brontë and Jane Austen. I collect their books, read them over and over again, watch movies based on their novels and it seems I can never get enough of them.

While Jane Austen’s books are quite popular among the readers, Charlotte Brontë seems to be popular just for one book – “Jane Eyre”. This is undoubtedly my favourite book. I have read it countless times, I have watched nearly every movie based on it. But today I’d like to turn your attention to another book, written by Charlotte Brontë. It’s called “The Professor”.

To be honest, I’m quite amazed that this book is not as popular as “Jane Eyre”. In some ways I must say this book is even better than the famous novel.

The plot of “The Professor” is built around a young man William Crimsworth who tries to find his way and earn for living. First he attempts to work for his rich brother Edward, but as the rich man proves to be a terrible tyrant, he moves out to Belgium. There he becomes a tutor of the English language a a boarding school. There is drama and philosophy, which is a special kind of writing Charlotte Brontë has. There is love and betrayal, hard work and religion.

What has captivated my mind in this book, you may ask? Many things. For one, the book is written from the point of view of a man, which I dare say is quite unusual, also considering the time this books has been written. The ideas of the book are relatively different from “Jane Eyre”, they bring a different message to a reader. Also it doesn’t show us Britain in its beautiful foggy mystery, but introduces us to a different city with its own religion, different kind of society, and it’s interesting to compare, for this book mostly goes in comparisons.

I definitely recommend it for reading to those who are in love with the British classics as much as I am. Especially to those who enjoy Brontë’s writing.

I hope this short book rambling was of use to you. Please, tell me in the comments if you have read this book or planning to? I’d love to hear opinions!

Julia

Leave a Reply

